Waffles and Waffling

Anyone who knows me well has probably in numerous instances had me run up to them screaming “look what I waffled!!”

Confession: I am addicted to waffling.

Timeline: Opened a checking account when I turned 16. The free gift that my bank gave me was a choice between some tupperware and a waffle iron. No brainer!

Fast forward to Junior year of college at Pitt. My friends and I were unpacking my stuff and saw that I had a waffle iron. Naturally, all three of us suddenly craved a delicious, crispy waffle. But we didn’t have the right ingredients for waffles, so we just made pancake batter and put it in the waffle iron! Then we thought, “What else could go in here?!”

It then transformed into a sort of obsession. Pretty soon all foods went in the waffle maker, practical or not (ex. frozen dumplings – NOT waffleable).

The magical thing about the wafflizer, though, is that, in theory, it gets hot enough to cook something enough to not kill you! AND it cooks the stuff in a funny shape.

It’s worked as a panini press:

Waffled Peanut Butter and Banana Sandwich
Waffled Peanut Butter and Banana Sandwich

An oven (with raw dough/batter going into wafflizer):

Waffle Chocolate Chip Muffins!
Waffle Chocolate Chip Muffins!
Waffled whole wheat soft pretzel
Waffled whole wheat soft pretzel
Chocolate and Marshmallow Stuffed Sugar Cookie Waffle
Chocolate and Marshmallow Stuffed Sugar Cookie Waffle

And your typical pan:

Wafflin'

I think the waffled egg is one of my favorites of everything that’s gone into the wafflizer. It comes out looking so cool and it cooks the egg in around 15-20 seconds (so speedy!).

That being said, the waffle iron in general cooks things way faster (in my opinion) than most of the traditional methods! Maybe because it applies direct heat to nearly everywhere on the surface of the food being waffled? Mysterious…

Here are some general cooking times, in case anyone reading this happens to want to try! – And remember to Pam/nonstick spray the waffle iron realllllly well – it saves a ton of clean up time!

Egg, beaten – 15 seconds
Chocolate Chip Muffins – 30 seconds
Pretzel – 45 seconds
Sandwich/Panini – 1 minute (to toast the bread and heat up whatever is on the sandwhich)
Sugar Cookies – 20-30 seconds (depending on desired softness)

BUT – be sure to check whether it’s done – as waffle irons can vary a whoooole lot. But if you do try it, GOOD LUCK. And feel free to send me a picture of whatever you waffle!

-Shirley

3 thoughts on “Waffles and Waffling

Leave a Reply

