(No Sugar and No Artificial Sweetener Added) Applesauce!

When I was 11 (?) years old, my father was diagnosed with Type II Diabetes. After seeing his initial struggle with the lifestyle changes (deprived of many of his favorite foods, needed to always make sure his feet were warm), I was always on the lookout for “stuff dad can eat!!”.

For every Thanksgiving after that, mom always made two pies for; one classic apple pie with a flaky (storebought) crust, and one apple pie sweetened with Splenda and surrounded by a crumbly oatmeal crust held together by sugar free maple syrup. I remember trying both and asking my mom why she didn’t just make two of the kind that my dad could eat, since we could also eat the “dad” kind and they tasted very similar. She told me that it was because the “dad pie” was sweetened artificially and that those kinds of chemicals aren’t good for you.

The idea that my father could only things that he used to love at the expense of his health made me incredibly sad, so since then, I tried to find diabetic friendly dessert recipes that cut out those artificial sweeteners!

This was one that I found on Pinterest. I cut out the Splenda just to see how it was, and it still turned out great! Very moist, lots of apple and cinnamon flavor, and easy to make! I forgot to pin it, though, so I don’t know who to credit. BUT. THANKS PINTEREST ❤

So,
1) Apple(s) get chopped
2) Little apple chunks get put in little sauce pan
3) Add 3-4 tablespoons of orange juice or apple juice, and 2-3 tsp of cinnamon
4) Turn heat to medium for 5 minutes, then turn down to low
5) Let apples cook down (about 20-30 min) and mash!

photo 2 (1)

In this case, I totally forgot to peel the apples, which made it RIDICULOUSLY HARD to mash. But it was still delicious 😀

photo 1 (2)

I love you, Dad!

Shirley

Leave a Reply

