Waffled Falafel

I’d been meaning to try this for soooo long! I love falafel and have never made it, but found a pretty simple recipe online. For dishes where the food is usually fried, I typically look for recipes that require baking vs. frying, since I think the waffle iron is closest to a baking method.

Waffled Falafel:

16 oz. chickpeas (soaked for 24 hrs and drained)
1/2 onion
6 tablespoons chopped parsey
2 cloves garlic
1 teaspoon cumin
2 teaspoons coriander
1 teaspoon chili powder
2 tablespoons olive oil
salt and pepper

1) Chop the garlic, onion, and parsley.

2) Put chickpeas in food processor along with spices and chopped things. Pulse until everything is finely combined. If it’s a little too dry to combine well, add olive oil!
Confession – I don’t own a food processor so I used my blender…go for the food processor if you have one!!

b7fd0f57-da94-44e0-beea-207990c5f9a3_zpstpcmypsy

 

3) Form into 1/4 inch thick patties and place in waffle iron.

d48cb2b5-2f33-437b-b0b7-acafbf2962e3_zps8bus4nmm

 

4) Waffle on high for 3 minutes per batch or until they got a little crispy on the outside.

ebe3cdeb-ca91-4b6f-b9c8-22a8fa3b328b_zpseguo2iwo

 

Mine had some chickpea chunks since I wasn’t able to get everything combined very well (and kind of killed my blended in the process..), but overall, pretty easy and tasty!

Final thought – I wish I hadn’t forgotten to get hummus because the waffle pockets would be perfect for holding more hummus!

Leave a Reply

